Rennet is an animal byproduct which has been used to process cheese for many centuries. For dietary or religious reasons, many people have chosen to avoid food products containing rennet. The Portuguese Cheese Company has chosen not to manufacture any of their cheese with the use of rennet. Instead, we use microbial enzymes as a safe and dependable alternative.

We certainly hope you agree with our decision and invite you to try our Rennet-Free cheeses.

Please note: St. Jorge Imported Cheese is made with rennet. Since we import this cheese, we do not have direct control over it's production and those producers continue to use their time-honoured methods.